Harvard University statistics at a glance
Harvard University statistics tell a story of scale, selectivity, and financial power in the same dataset. The numbers below show a university that combines a large enrollment footprint with an unusually strong endowment, significant research spending, and a highly competitive admissions process.
Fast facts
- 24,317 total degree students were enrolled in Fall 2025 (Harvard Fact Book: Enrollment).
- 20,117 faculty and staff made up the university-wide headcount in Fall 2025 (Harvard Fact Book: Faculty and Staff).
- $56.9 billion was Harvard’s FY2025 endowment (Harvard Fact Book: Endowment).
- $1.020 billion was spent on sponsored research in FY2024 (Harvard Fact Book: Sponsored Research).
- 4.2% was the admit rate for the Class of 2029 (Harvard Fact Book: College Admissions).
- 47,893 applications were received for the Class of 2029 (Harvard Fact Book: College Admissions).
Table of contents
- Enrollment and campus scale
- Faculty, staff, and location mix
- Endowment and research strength
- Tuition and billed cost trends
- Admissions and affordability
- How the Harvard numbers fit together
Enrollment and campus scale
Harvard’s enrollment data gives the clearest first impression of the university’s footprint. The headline figure is 24,317 total degree students in Fall 2025 (Harvard Fact Book: Enrollment), which is large enough to support a wide range of schools while still feeling selective at the undergraduate level.
At a glance by school
| Unit | Fall 2025 enrollment | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Harvard College | 6,675 | 6,666 full-time, 9 part-time (Harvard Fact Book: Enrollment) |
| GSAS | 4,571 | 4,553 full-time, 18 part-time (Harvard Fact Book: Enrollment) |
| Harvard Business School | 1,895 | All full-time MBA students (Harvard Fact Book: Enrollment) |
| Harvard Law School | 2,039 | All full-time students (Harvard Fact Book: Enrollment) |
| Harvard Medical School | 1,392 | 991 full-time, 401 part-time (Harvard Fact Book: Enrollment) |
| Harvard Extension School | 3,704 | Includes undergraduate and graduate degree students across full-time and part-time enrollment (Harvard Fact Book: Enrollment) |
The structure of the enrollment mix matters as much as the total. Harvard College remains the most visible undergraduate unit, but the graduate and professional schools collectively make the university much broader than a single-college institution.
A few details stand out:
- Harvard College alone enrolled 6,675 students in Fall 2025 (Harvard Fact Book: Enrollment).
- GSAS followed with 4,571 students (Harvard Fact Book: Enrollment).
- Harvard Extension School enrolled 3,704 degree students, showing the scale of Harvard’s continuing and adult-facing academic reach (Harvard Fact Book: Enrollment).
- Harvard Business School and Harvard Law School each operated at professional-school scale, with 1,895 MBA students and 2,039 law students respectively (Harvard Fact Book: Enrollment).
Big number
6,749 U.S. nonresident degree students were in the Fall 2025 student body (Harvard Fact Book: Enrollment).
That figure helps explain why Harvard’s enrollment profile is not just large, but globally distributed. The university’s student body is not built around one campus experience alone; it is spread across multiple schools, formats, and academic missions.
Faculty, staff, and location mix
Harvard’s staffing data shows how much infrastructure sits behind the university’s academic output. In Fall 2025, Harvard reported 20,117 faculty and staff headcount university-wide and 19,245.8 faculty and staff FTE (Harvard Fact Book: Faculty and Staff). Those two figures together show both the size of the workforce and the full-time-equivalent intensity of the institution.
Key workforce figures
- 20,117 faculty and staff headcount university-wide (Harvard Fact Book: Faculty and Staff).
- 19,245.8 faculty and staff FTE university-wide (Harvard Fact Book: Faculty and Staff).
- 4,537.1 Arts and Sciences faculty and staff FTE (Harvard Fact Book: Faculty and Staff).
- 4,951 Central Administration headcount (Harvard Fact Book: Faculty and Staff).
- 2,619 Medical School faculty and staff headcount (Harvard Fact Book: Faculty and Staff).
The distribution across locations is also revealing:
- 12,840 faculty and staff were in Cambridge (Harvard Fact Book: Faculty and Staff).
- 4,134 faculty and staff were in the Longwood Medical Area (Harvard Fact Book: Faculty and Staff).
- 2,665 faculty and staff were in Allston (Harvard Fact Book: Faculty and Staff).
Why it matters
These location figures show that Harvard is not concentrated in a single academic core. Instead, the workforce is spread across several major hubs, which is consistent with a university that combines undergraduate teaching, graduate education, professional schools, medical activity, and central administration.
That spread also helps explain why the staffing counts are so high relative to enrollment. Harvard’s scale is not just student-facing; it includes administration, research support, medical activity, and the operational complexity of a large multi-school institution.
Endowment and research strength
The most striking Harvard University statistics in the dataset are financial. Harvard’s FY2025 endowment was $56.9 billion (Harvard Fact Book: Endowment), a level that gives the university an enormous long-term financial base.
Endowment snapshot
| Fiscal year | Endowment | Return on investments | Other detail |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY2025 | $56.9 billion | 11.9% | Payout rate was 5.0%; endowment equaled 40.0% of revenue (Harvard Fact Book: Endowment) |
| FY2024 | $53.2 billion | 9.6% | |
| FY2023 | $50.7 billion | Not stated | |
| FY2021 | Not stated | 33.6% |
The broad trend is upward in the data provided. Harvard’s endowment rose from $50.7 billion in FY2023 to $53.2 billion in FY2024, then to $56.9 billion in FY2025 (Harvard Fact Book: Endowment). That progression is important because it shows both a very large base and a continuing capacity for growth.
A few endowment-related details are especially useful for readers comparing Harvard’s finances to its academic scale:
- The FY2025 return on investments was 11.9% (Harvard Fact Book: Endowment).
- The FY2025 payout rate was 5.0% (Harvard Fact Book: Endowment).
- The endowment equaled 40.0% of revenue in FY2025 (Harvard Fact Book: Endowment).
- Harvard’s FY2021 return on investments was 33.6%, which gives a reference point for how volatile strong investment years can be (Harvard Fact Book: Endowment).
Sponsored research
Harvard’s research numbers show that the university’s financial engine is not limited to investment assets. It also operates at major research scale.
- $1.020 billion in total sponsored research expenditures in FY2024 (Harvard Fact Book: Sponsored Research).
- $684 million in federal sponsored research expenditures in FY2024 (Harvard Fact Book: Sponsored Research).
- $336 million in non-federal sponsored research expenditures in FY2024 (Harvard Fact Book: Sponsored Research).
- $488 million in NIH-sponsored research in FY2024 (Harvard Fact Book: Sponsored Research).
- $520 million in DHHS-sponsored research in FY2024 (Harvard Fact Book: Sponsored Research).
- $56 million in NSF-sponsored research in FY2024 (Harvard Fact Book: Sponsored Research).
The trend line is also clear. Harvard’s total sponsored research rose from $898 million in FY2020 to $1.020 billion in FY2024 (Harvard Fact Book: Sponsored Research). That increase is significant because it indicates sustained research expansion rather than a single-year spike.
Pull quote
Harvard combined a $56.9 billion endowment with more than $1.0 billion in annual sponsored research spending (Harvard Fact Book: Endowment; Harvard Fact Book: Sponsored Research).
That pairing is rare in higher education statistics because it reflects both accumulated wealth and active external research demand.
Tuition and billed cost trends
The tuition data gives a useful counterweight to Harvard’s financial strength. Even with its endowment, the university still reports a high sticker price.
Undergraduate pricing table
| Fiscal year | Harvard College tuition | Total billed cost |
|---|---|---|
| FY2017 | $43,280 | $63,025 (Harvard Fact Book: Undergraduate Tuition) |
| FY2025 | $56,550 | $82,866 (Harvard Fact Book: Undergraduate Tuition) |
| FY2026 | $59,320 | $86,926 (Harvard Fact Book: Undergraduate Tuition) |
The growth over time is straightforward and substantial. Harvard College tuition rose from $43,280 in FY2017 to $59,320 in FY2026 (Harvard Fact Book: Undergraduate Tuition). Over the same span, the total billed cost increased from $63,025 to $86,926 (Harvard Fact Book: Undergraduate Tuition).
What the pricing trend signals
- The published cost structure continues to move upward over time.
- Total billed cost remains far above tuition alone because room, board, and related charges are built into the overall bill.
- A high sticker price does not by itself describe what families actually pay, but it does show the public-facing cost level of attendance.
The important point is not just that Harvard is expensive. It is that the university publishes both tuition and total billed cost in a way that lets readers see how much wider the full attendance bill is than tuition alone.
Admissions and affordability
Harvard’s admissions data is one of the most searched-for parts of its statistics profile, and the Fall 2025 and Class of 2029 figures underscore how competitive the undergraduate pipeline is.
Admissions at a glance
- 47,893 applications for the Class of 2029 (Harvard Fact Book: College Admissions).
- 2,003 students admitted to the Class of 2029 (Harvard Fact Book: College Admissions).
- 4.2% admit rate for the Class of 2029 (Harvard Fact Book: College Admissions).
- 83.6% yield rate for the Class of 2029 (Harvard Fact Book: College Admissions).
- 1,675 students enrolled in the Class of 2029 (Harvard Fact Book: College Admissions).
- 75 students admitted from the waiting list (Harvard Fact Book: College Admissions).
The basic shape is easy to read: a very large application pool, a very small admitted class, and an extremely high yield. The 4.2% admit rate is the number most readers will notice first (Harvard Fact Book: College Admissions), but the 83.6% yield rate is equally important because it shows how often admitted students choose to enroll.
Class profile highlights
The admissions statistics page adds useful composition data for the Class of 2029:
- 20% of the class was first-generation (Harvard Admissions Statistics page).
- 16% was classified as international by permanent address (Harvard Admissions Statistics page).
- 41% intended to study in the social sciences (Harvard Admissions Statistics page).
- 25% intended to study engineering (Harvard Admissions Statistics page).
These percentages are helpful because they show how Harvard’s entering class is distributed by background and academic interest, not just by selectivity.
Affordability data
Harvard’s affordability statistics are among the most important facts in the dataset because they show how the university translates its financial capacity into aid policy.
- 45% of Harvard College students attended tuition-free (Harvard Admissions Statistics page).
- 26% of Harvard College students attended for free (Harvard Admissions Statistics page).
- 21% of Harvard College students were estimated to be Pell-eligible (Harvard Admissions Statistics page).
- 55% of Harvard undergraduates received need-based Harvard scholarships in a typical year (Harvard Financial Aid Fact Sheet).
- 24% of Harvard families pay nothing to attend (Harvard Financial Aid page).
Affordability thresholds
Harvard also published specific family-income thresholds for 2025-26:
- Families with incomes of $100,000 or less are free of charge at Harvard College starting in 2025-26 (Harvard Affordability page).
- Families with incomes of $200,000 or less receive free tuition starting in 2025-26 (Harvard Affordability page).
Those thresholds are the clearest bridge between published tuition and actual access. They show that the university’s sticker price is only one part of the story, especially for lower- and middle-income families.
Typical scholarship package
Harvard’s standard package example for 2023-2024 gives a concrete look at how aid can be structured:
- $84,400 total budget (Harvard Admissions Statistics page).
- $68,700 from Harvard, federal, and outside scholarships (Harvard Admissions Statistics page).
- $2,700 student term-time work expectation (Harvard Admissions Statistics page).
- $12,800 parent contribution (Harvard Admissions Statistics page).
- $200 student asset contribution (Harvard Admissions Statistics page).
That package is useful because it breaks aid into components instead of reducing financial aid to a single net price. Readers can see how scholarship support, work expectations, parental contribution, and student assets combine in one example.
How the Harvard numbers fit together
The dataset points to a university that is large, wealthy, selective, and operationally complex all at once. The best way to interpret the statistics is to look at them as a system rather than as isolated facts.
Key patterns across the data
- Scale and selectivity coexist. Harvard enrolled 24,317 degree students while admitting only 2,003 students to the Class of 2029 (Harvard Fact Book: Enrollment; Harvard Fact Book: College Admissions).
- The workforce is substantial. Harvard’s 20,117 faculty and staff headcount supports a broad academic and administrative structure (Harvard Fact Book: Faculty and Staff).
- The endowment is unusually large. At $56.9 billion in FY2025, it gives the university major financial flexibility (Harvard Fact Book: Endowment).
- Research remains a core function. Harvard’s $1.020 billion in FY2024 sponsored research shows major external funding activity (Harvard Fact Book: Sponsored Research).
- Affordability policy is central to access. The income thresholds and free-attendance figures show that the published sticker price is not the full story for many families (Harvard Affordability page; Harvard Financial Aid page; Harvard Admissions Statistics page).
A compact interpretation table
| Topic | Most important figure | What it suggests |
|---|---|---|
| Enrollment | 24,317 degree students | A large but still selective university (Harvard Fact Book: Enrollment) |
| Workforce | 20,117 headcount | Significant institutional scale (Harvard Fact Book: Faculty and Staff) |
| Endowment | $56.9 billion | Exceptional financial capacity (Harvard Fact Book: Endowment) |
| Research | $1.020 billion | Major research enterprise (Harvard Fact Book: Sponsored Research) |
| Admissions | 4.2% admit rate | Extremely selective undergraduate entry (Harvard Fact Book: College Admissions) |
| Affordability | Free tuition at $200,000 income and below | Aid policy is built for broad access (Harvard Affordability page) |
Taken together, Harvard University statistics show an institution with a rare combination of breadth and exclusivity. The student body is wide enough to span undergraduate, graduate, professional, and extension programs, but the admissions pipeline remains intensely selective. The finances are even more unusual: a large endowment, major research expenditures, and a detailed affordability framework all operate alongside one another in the same institution.